Meet the APO

Music Director

David Felburg David Felberg, conductor, is currently the music director of the Albuquerque Philharmonic Orchestra and music director/co-founder of Chatter, a chamber orchestra dedicated to presenting 20th and 21st century chamber orchestra repertoire. He is also principal conductor of the Albuquerque Chamber Soloists. David made his operatic conducting debut with the Emerald City Opera’s production of The Magic Flute in the summer of 2003. David has guest conducted both the New Mexico Symphony Orchestra and the Santa Fe Symphony, and the Beaux Arts Festival Orchestra in Steamboat Springs, CO. For the past two years, he has co-conducted the NMSO in their yearly production of the Nutckracker. David holds a master of music degree in instrumental conducting from the University of New Mexico, where he studied with Dr. Jorge Perez-Gomez. He has attended the Conductor’s Workshop at Bard College under the tutelage of Harold Farberman, and has also studied privately with maestro Bernard Rubenstein. In the summer of 2000, David attended the prestigious American Academy of Conducting at the Aspen Music Festival, where he worked with maestros David Zinman and Murry Sidlin, and with renown conducting pedagogue Jorma Panula. David is also in demand as a violinist, and he is currently the associate concertmaster with the New Mexico Symphony. He has been a concerto soloist with the NMSO, and the Albuquerque Philharmonic Orchestra, and is in demand as a recitalist and chamber musician, in New Mexico and the Southwest. He made his NYC, Merkin Hall violin recital debut in the summer of 2005.


Violin I

Larry Jones*+

Tammy Barney

Sarah Blair

Joyce Carabajal

Anny Chung

Wendy Cieslak+

Elaine Davidson

Chris Fredenburgh

George Friedman

Judy Jones

Eugenia Kuajara

Dominic LaBrake

Laurel Leazer

Martha Strauss

Julie Taylor


Violin II

Melissa Kennedy*

Marty Baker

Ann Gebhart

Kari Hauge

Betty Hume

Marilyn Hutton

Elaine Johnson

Anne  Kole

Erik Maese

Carolyn Muggenburg

Kate Preteska

Debbie Risberg

Elizabeth Rivers Gregory

Jane Selverstone

Mackenzie Timmons



Rebecca O'Boyle*

Kari Brane

Jessica Coyle

Antoinette Drabek-Lazarin

Nancy Garth

Tamara Johnson

Carson Leflang

Chris Lombardo

Gretchen Obenauf

Megan Schendel

Karen Schindwolf

Corrie Taillon



Merry Wadsworth*

Elizabeth Austin

Enid Bradley+

Jill Bunting

Adriana Foris

Walter Gerstle

Vicki Hontas

Mike Peterson

Lauren Starosta

Sherilyn Urban

Sharon Woodworth



Stuart Zimny*

Marlene Bryan+

Andrew Cowan

Briana Ortiz



Anne Jones*

Kelly Brown

Bonnie Schmader


Oboe/English Horn

Mary Anne D’Arcangelis*

Carolyn Mazarakis+

John Arango+



Al Lappin*

Marlene Bryan+

Beverly Ortiz



Brian Tuffnell*+

Susan Brake+



Sue Thomas*

Sabrina Carrillo

Tim Falling

Barbara Lukes



Joe Walters*

Kinley Culbertson

Jon Golobic



Colin Lazauski*

Tom Golden

Jed Rowley



Brad Boyce*



John Sundell*



Josh Etzkin*

Paul Arroyo

Rick Kennedy



*denotes principal

+denotes board member

Supported in part by the City of Albuquerque Urban Enhancement Trust Fund, New Mexico Arts, a division of the Department of Cultural Affairs, and the National Endowment for the Arts.